RSS

What?! Why is that perfectly good wine in an iced tea pitcher?? Tsk, tsk…

17 Apr

Well, because it’s more than just wine. Yes, the wine itself is perfectly good, and quite good for drinking as is, despite its low price. However. our friends in Spain had a good idea. That idea was adding fruit and a few other things to wine, and it resulted in a tasty treat. It would probably be delicious in Spain, but while you’re hanging out at home paying off debt or maybe saving for that trip to Spain, you can make for yourself with just a few ingredients.

3713

Now, I read a recipe for sangria, but I didn’t have all the ingredients the recipe called for. Plus, I’ve never been one of those people who even CAN follow the recipe to the letter. I always say to myself, “Yeah, but what if I substituted lime for lemon, or cayenne for jalapeno?” Well, at any case, I didn’t have rum. Well, I do have rum, but it’s a special rum from a friend, and I’m saving it for a special occasion, and I didn’t think sangria made from inexpensive wine would be a good use of the rum. So, I used vodka. The recipe said 4 shots of rum, I had about 1/5 of a 750ml bottle of vodka, so I dumped it unceremoniously into the pitcher.

3718 (3)

Probably much to my mother’s chagrin, I like my alcohol. And I can tell you that Smirnoff is pretty dang good vodka. I’m not terribly picky about vodka; there’s not a whole lot of flavor to the stuff I generally buy, but that’s because I know I’m going to be mixing it, usually with fruit juice. Frankly (sorry, expensive vodka makers) there’s no point in buying amazing vodka to mix with anything. The flavor of good vodka is easily washed out by just about anything you’d mix it with. So save up for the good vodka for another project.

 

Next, they called for an orange, sliced. A sliced orange sounded absolutely amazing, and I really have to try that next time I make sangria. But I didn’t have an orange today, so…

3719 (1)

Lime is one of my favorite things in life. Sadly, I didn’t have fresh limes, either, but I did have this lime juice. I know, the purists may be horrified, but this stuff is going to sit in this pitcher overnight with other ingredients before it’s done. I’ll buy both oranges AND limes next time. I added about 1/4 cup of lime juice. Now, the idea of sangria is wine and fruit. We’ve added lime juice, but wait…here comes another of life’s pleasures…

3715

Frozen berries! Yes, you absolutely can use entirely fresh fruit for this project. It will be good if you do! But again, this stuff is going to sit overnight in a pitcher in my fridge. I added about 2-3 cups of frozen berries. I have a 3 quart pitcher here so I had the room for a lot of berries, but also I LOVE berries, so I heaped them in. And then…

3717

That’s Yellow Tail Cabernet Sauvignon. As you’ve likely noticed, none of the ingredients I’m using here are the “good” (thanks, Barefoot Contessa!) version. They’re not bad ingredients. They’re just not the most expensive. Because (I can’t say this enough), they’re going to sit overnight, getting all mixed together and drunk on Yellow Tail wine and Smirnoff vodka, and melding and mixing and happifying. I poured myself a glass after the sangria had been sitting for a few hours, and tested the progress with my dinner, homemade tacos with fresh spinach, salsa and tomatoes, made by my husband who loves me.

3721

It’s not quite ready yet. It’s pretty good, but by tomorrow it will be amazing. The taco was amazing. I think I’ll take a recipe of this sangria to my sister-in-law’s house for our monthly game night next time. It’s gonna be yummy. Please share your favorite wine, sangria, sangria recipe or any recipe in the comments! Until next time, happy tasting!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 17, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
